Me & Picasso: The Blue Period

I wrote a short blog post on my prayer blog the other day titled “Kind, Helpful, Beautiful” where I talked about a new set of attitudes I am trying on for size. Whenever I am tempted to react to a situation from a place that is filled with hurt, spite or ugliness, I ask myself these three questions:

“Is what I am about to say Kind? Will it be Helpful? Is it Beautiful?”

And while I have been meditating on those words — Kind, Helpful, and Beautiful — in my spiritual life, I have also been working to reconnect to my lost love: Creativity.

I haven’t made a darn thing over three months. My sewing machine is put away. My creative juices have dried up and blown away. Sadness has spilled into my quilting life and my multi-colored, batik-driven, ooo-let-me-get-a-blade-on-that kind of joy and love have vanished into thin air.

And it feels like nothing short of a miracle will bring it back.

This last weekend, while I was visiting my son Mason in Spokane (that’s the walkway to his apartment above), I poured my uncreative, dried-up heart out to him. I told him I haven’t made a thing since hearing the “I don’t love you anymore” words.

Mason is always ready with an answer. He is an adventurous sort and can-do kind of man. He is filled with a deep and joyful love, a sardonic glee and a serious dabbling knowledge of all things, everywhere (he loves to watch Jeopardy!).

Mason listened to my sorrow, shrugged and said, “Picasso had a Blue Period. Why don’t you just make blue quilts for a while?”

So I looked it up on Wiki:

The Blue Period (Spanish: Periodo Azul) of Picasso is the period between 1901 and 1904, when he painted essentially monochromatic paintings in shades of blue and blue-green, only occasionally warmed by other colors.

What’s not to love about blue and green, especially in early spring!?  So, I have called Stosh, my number one son, and asked him to help me move my sewing table into my new sewing room tomorrow. I am going to spend the rest of my week painting the walls a soft sunshine yellow, collecting all my blues and greens into one place and shopping for a few more batik blues and greens. Linda? Bobbi? I’m coming to see you!

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 25, 2010.

8 Responses to “Me & Picasso: The Blue Period”

  1. Oh, I LIKE this. I like that son, too. The apple doesn’t fall far.

  2. What I truly LOVE about you is the fact that you can write to all of us what you are really feeling. Most people hide behind shields and always paint a pretty picture. REAL life is not always pretty.
    And we do all have issues that we try and keep to ourselves. What a wonderful experience some times to read others say what we can not bring our selves to say. I am a faithful follower of your blog and enjoy that you feel safe enough to share all thoughts with us. Bright and shiny ones and the darker ones we all harbor. Keep up the good work and I am anxious to see your BLUE quilt. Blessings, Jonnie

  3. Yay for Mason! Yay for Picasso! Yay for you! Looking forward to seeing what emerges from your blues (double entendre intended).
    xoxo

  4. I’m working on a quilt made of ugly blue fabrics. If you have some of those hanging around maybe you could work in the theme of making something wonderful out of something ugly.

  5. I LOVE the color blue. And it’s such a good idea to put a blue face to your mood. Sometimes when I’m in a writing funk I just need an idea or a nudge to get me going again. Hmm. Maybe I’ll write a blue poem in honor of you. Look for it next week!

  6. You are blessed to have sons who are so in tune with their momma. I gotta tell ya, there’s not much more uplifting than the colors of the sky, water, leaves, grass and sun. How can you go wrong?

  7. Kim, Darling Kim… You are so lucky to have wonderful sons, and you have the passion for life to bring yourself back, better than before. There is something very wonderful and colorful ahead for you, you just have to create it. Be it blue, green or pink! Good for you. And I have missed my Sunday Lady so I will be looking forward to seeing you.

  8. First thought – What a wonderful way to begin Holy Week. Thinking of you finding a place for the machine and for the piles of blues and the quilt board.
    Second thought – Picasso and his blue period. Wow. His use of color and juxtaposition. That’s exciting. That’s internal.
    Third thought – I read a book I read in early early high school, Sybil. Quite heavy book. Quite a miraculous journey I thought then and still do. She said that Blue means love.

    I’m carrying you with me today, Friend. Along with a bag of teeball stuff for Jack’s first practice. I know he’s tired of hearing me answer his questions with I don’t know first time for you first time for me…big day for both of you…

    Big Love.

Leave a Reply

 
