And the Lord said…

“Thou shalt have a good breakfast of eggs and oatmeal and blueberries, for thou havest a long day of toil and exercise ahead, and thou must be thou fortified.”

And so I ate. And it was good.

And then the Lord said, “Shall you now climb upon a ladder and scale the heights necessary to paint-eth thy walls, and thou shalt paint-eth thy walls yellow.”

And so I did. And it was good.

And then the Lord said, “Thou shalt run for 10 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, and then run again for 10.”

And so I ran, walked, and ran again. And, lo, it was very, very, very, very, very hard. But I did-eth-edst it. And it was good.

And again I ate of the Lord’s bounty.

And again, it was good.

And again I painted. And it was even better than before.

But then, near the end of the long day I said to the Lord, “Lord, I am tired and my legs are weak.”

And the Lord answered me saying, “Get thee to a shower, my child, wash away the paint and the sweat. And then, when thou art clean and robed and slippered, microwave-est thyself a cup of cocoa, addeth miniature marshmallows to thy cup until it nearly runneth over, then sitteth thyself down into your comfy chair and readeth from thy most favorite storybook. Thou hast earned thy rest.”

And so shall I washeth, microwaveth, filleth, sitteth and readeth. And it will be good.

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 27, 2010.

13 Responses to “And the Lord said…”

  1. Glad it was all good.

  2. Amen.

  3. You’re so funny. I’m glad you got that painting done!

  4. I loveth youeth to deathetheth.

  5. This is a funny way to frame a day. You have inspired me to have oatmeal and blueberries for my own breakfast instead of a roll! Thanks!

  6. I have re-read all of her books in preparation for Echo in the Bone and am now halfway through it. I don’t know what I’ll do once I’m done! I’ve been reading Diana since September now. The walls look great, by the way. ;c)

    • Jayne, you are such an inspiration and comfort to me! The birds, the books, the music — you enrich my life beyond what I can even tell you! Hmm, it seems that you are rather Holy Spirit-like, and how awesome is that?

      ♥Kim

  7. You need to do something about that lithsp.

    Love love LOVE the color of that room. Toasting you with oatmeal & cocoa from afar, chica!

  8. Painting and running? You are a wild woman!

  9. I must tell you Kim, I just love your writing!Good way to start my day.

  10. Guess this makes up for that cheeseburger and frosty! LOL

  11. PS: Tell me about Outlander. I’ve heard about it for years.

Leave a Reply

 
