A Secret (Belated) Birthday Project

I haven’t accomplished much this week, I have been busy riding the roller coaster of Love Gone Bad down into another dip, another low. But, like that roller coaster, I can feel myself heading back up again — ker-chunk, ker-chunk, ker-chunk — heading back uphill, slowly but surely.

Today’s blog post from Slow Love Life gives permission to mourn, time to figure things out. I think it’s okay to be down, as long as you don’t stay down…at least not for too long. (And how long is too long? Probably when you need a bath and need to be TOLD you need a bath :D)

I spent a little time in the Studio today (always a good sign!) and finished the quilting for a Secret (Belated) Birthday Project. Wanna sneak peek?

Now if THAT doesn’t cheer you up, nothing will!

“We should notice that we are already supported at every moment. There is the earth below our feet and there is the air, filling our lungs and emptying them. We should begin from this when we need support.” -Natalie Goldberg, Writing Down the Bones
~ by Kimberly Mason on April 22, 2010.

11 Responses to “A Secret (Belated) Birthday Project”

  1. Hi Kim, my thoughts on love gone bad: Perhaps our growth is greater for the vulnerability expended. The very foolishness that brings us to our knees BRINGS US TO OUR KNEES.
    I see you read Natalie, do you read Anne Lamott, too? I find they both reek of authenticity which I need a good strong cup of every so often.

    • “Perhaps our growth is greater for the vulnerability expended. The very foolishness that brings us to our knees BRINGS US TO OUR KNEES.” Wow, how absolutely quotable that is! And I think you are also right about Anne Lamott, time for me to bring out one or two of her slim volumes and keep them at chair- and bed-side. She is a great one for the “me too” moments!

  2. Sending you a cyber hug. That fabric is hilarious, can’t wait to see how you’ve used it. If you hadn’t said it was a gift I would have guessed drapes for your sewing room.

  3. The lows are just temporary. You’ve got such talent and creative energy to channel into the positive while you continue to work it through. Soon you’ll reach that point of no return when you can rejoice in the memories AND feel okay about the present!! That fabric would lift anybodies spirits! ~karen

  4. Hang in there!

  5. Awww Kim. (heavy sigh). Would throwing something help? You are worth so much more than the bottom pit of the roller coaster ride.

    That fabric? I have a gay buddy who would LOVE that. Gotta find me some.

  6. Forget the fabric – where can I find the men? JUST KIDDING!

    Dr. M & I have had a down week too – maybe it’s something in the air? I plan to have a better week next week – hope you can join me!

  7. I applaud you for feeling your feelings!! Truly! How many people today actually feel them and don’t douse them in cookies (myself, but getting better) shopping, tv, etc. I am inspired by anyone who lets themselves just be….

    Just finished “The Wishing Year”- have you read it? Interesting thought process of a divorced, spiritually broken? woman who put “out there” that she wanted to buy a house, find a partner and heal her spirit. And she did all in a year. She looks at different parts of wishing/ desire and questions what people believe about it from spiritual points of view. It challenged my thinking about wishing and asking for things from God. (Aren’t I supposed to not want anything? Aren’t I supposed to just pray for God’s will for me?)
    This book got me thinking like Anne Lamotte and would love to hear what you think! (or anybody else here)

    • I haven’t read her book, I looked it up on Amazon and it looks very interesting! I love the idea that whatever we focus on is what we see. Sounds simple, but it really isn’t. Looking for Signs and Wonders along the way is the very key to life…don’t you think?

  8. Thanks for the reply. I do think looking for signs and wonders is the magic and joy of life. I guess I am conflicted about putting my finger in the future and saying I want this particular circumstance consisting of this particular material object (buying a house) by this time. It feels like manipulating life and I am not sure its “allowed” in a Christian realm. The author looks into this, and I guess I am still looking for permission to think outside the parameters of my very fundemental Christian upbringing.
    Interesting thought- I will look and think about!

Leave a Reply

 
