I’ve Been Out Adventuring, but I’m Eager to Get Back to the Studio!

The last time you didn’t hear from me for a week I was silent because I was sad. This time, however, I have been silent because I have been busy. Yay!

I’ll work backwards through my week…

Tuesday:

I ran a mile, walked another mile and a half. Below you see the view from the top of my parents long driveway. It was one of those bright but gray days of Spring in the Northwest, various shades of green — from grey-green to blue-green to yellow-green to green as green gets — play against the bright white and dull grays of a threatening sky.

I particularly love this view because of the lone, crooked, somewhat scraggly evergreen tree on the horizon. Somehow I feel a kinship to that tree. He seems happy, yet separate. Alone, yet he is surrounded by friends. His environment is ever changing, and yet he seems to remain the same, day after day. His growth is so slow, so imperceptible, but yet, he does change, he does grow.

Monday:

What the heck did I do on Monday? Oh yeah! Sat collapsed in my Lazy Boy chair in front of the television. Good day, a very good day!

Sunday:

Burnt Ridge MX race track. Need I say more? It was AWESOME and I wanna dirt bike and I wanna catch Big Air over mounds of dirt and cut tough corners at dirt churning speeds.

I was there to get a story on the opening day of racing. This track is only 5 miles from my house and I had never been there before. You better believe I’ll be going there again! Vroom, Vroom, Vroom!

I spent 3 or 4 hours walking and talking and shooting over 40 acres of motocross track heaven, that (combined with Saturday’s adventures) is why my Monday was spent in the Lazy Boy. It’s a very good thing that I have been working to stay in shape or I would NEVER have made it through my weekend!

I’m not sure when this story will run, perhaps next Monday. I surely do love getting paid to go on Adventures! This week I will meet with a woman that rents out her goats to clear brush. Fun stuff!

Saturday:

Opening Day Fishing at Mineral Lake. Gray, gray, damp, more gray. The only thing that keep this day from being a total disaster was the fact that the temperatures were mild and the people were friendly.

I didn’t get to see a single person catch a single, solitary, danged fish.  (If there was an emoticon for “pout” I would SO be sportin’ it right now!)

Diane, when I saw this view I thought of you. (I was mainly thinking, “Gee, I bet Diane, could do something with this view. I know I can’t!)

The best part of the day was dropping by the Sugar n’ Spice to see Linda and the gang. I bought a focus fabric to go with my “Mourning to Dancing” wallhanging centerpiece from Nancy, Near. Here’s a sneak peek of the wall hanging and a shot of the story (continued from the bottom of the front page to the back) and my first two pictures ever published (since high school, 30 years ago) in a newspaper.

Friday:

Friday I was making wishes and running again. I was wishing for an Adventure. When I came back in from running, my cell phone rang, it was my editor with a couple of assignments.

Hmmm, “if wishes were horses…”

A Good Giggle:

During a recent password audit of a company, it was found that a blonde receptionist was using the following password:

“MickeyMinniePlutoHueyLouieDeweyDonaldGoofySacramento”

When asked why she had such a long password, she said she was told that it had to be at least 8 characters long including at least one capital.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 28, 2010.

5 Responses to “I’ve Been Out Adventuring, but I’m Eager to Get Back to the Studio!”

  1. LOL at the blonde joke! My cousin (a blonde) collects them so I had to share it with her).

    I’m glad you’ve been busy – & with such interesting things!

  2. Love the background fabric and love the password story which I’ve already begun to circulate widely.

  3. Good to read you have been busy! I LOVE the very first photo. Actually, it makes my chest hurt because I miss the PacNW so much. Those wonderful greens against grey skies – fabulous!

  4. My goodness, but you HAVE been busy. I appreciated the little giggle at the end of your post! ~karen

  5. Impressive. I am thrilled for your new “postings”. Way to go girl.

Leave a Reply

 
