Hey, Moms, Remember the Beauty Shop?

Before, during and after.

There are still ladies that go to “the beauty shop” to get their hair “done.”  Remember when “done” meant that your hair was tortured into a “Do” and then shellacked into place?

I have great memories of going to the beauty shop with my grandma. I remember the first time grandma let me get highlights. Geez, grandma, look what you started!

I loved sitting in the beauty shop, waiting for my grandmother, listening to my grandma and Inez gossip. Do you have any beauty shop memories to share?

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 8, 2010.

5 Responses to “Hey, Moms, Remember the Beauty Shop?”

  1. I remember being in maybe 5th grade? & trying to decide whether or not to get a perm. My mom took me to her hairdresser who rolled my hair on perm rods & then after it was dry took them out – let me tell you, rolling wet hair on perm rods & then letting it dry is NOT the same as getting a real perm. Frizz city! Didn’t stop me from sporting a perm for most of the 80s!

    When I was in zambia I used to go to get a cut as this nice salon & my favorite part was the strong dark fingers massaging my head during the shampoo – bliss!

  2. P.S. – your hair looks GREAT!

  3. OMG. And leaving the “beauty pah-lah with one of those net and plastic thingies on my head to preserve the ‘do. I nused to work with someone who did not believe in spending money at the salon or the barber’s, so she had one of those Flow-be things that attached to the vacuum cl

    • Sheesh, can’t type for crap today.

      ….that attached to the vacuum cleaner & somehow cut your hair. Not a particularly good look when finished, but who am I to judge.

  4. I don’t ever remember going with my mom or grandmother, but I do remember the first time I went for an “up-do” for a sixth-grade dance. Heh.

Leave a Reply

 
