A Heap O’Happiness Summer Quilt

I just finished my BFF’s “Heap O’Happiness” summer quilt, click here or on the thumbnail for a larger view.

I used one layer cake (40 10-inch squares) and two yards of backing. There is no batting. I just stitched around the outside, right sides together, left and opening and then turned and top-stitched around the edge.

Presto Chango! A summer wrap in no time flat!

Here you see the Heap O’Happiness quilt folded up and on its way to the post office. It’s 43″ x 68″, but easily fits inside a large Priority mailing envelope (because there’s no batting) and only cost $5 to send.

“Happiness is a butterfly, which, when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you sit down quietly, may alight upon you.” —Nathaniel Hawthorne

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 1, 2010.

7 Responses to “A Heap O’Happiness Summer Quilt”

  1. This quilt is so well named, Kim.

  2. BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  3. It’s lovely, Kim! Perfect for summer, and as you say, easy to slip into the mail.

  4. Love the colors! And if you kind of squint, you can make out two big hearts in there. I like the idea of a summer, no batting quilt. Isn’t that what we used to call a coverlet, back in the day? I seem to remember something like that, tied instead of quilted, on one of our family’s beds in the summer. Perked up the bed, but was light.

  5. Lovely! I’m curious, why no batting?

  6. Because Kim’s a genius!! 🙂 I’m always too hot in the summer but I’m no good at napping or sleeping without covers and just a sheet never feels right. I could never find a light enough quilt! But it turns out that if you know a quilter, and you look pathetic and make big sad eyes at her, sometimes you get something awesome!

  7. Marie – I’m going to have to email her a picture of me with big sad eyes – that thing is GORGEOUS!

Leave a Reply

 
