For the first time EVER: I mowed my lawn

The Ugly Dog Club left behind a new friend for me yesterday. Isn’t he stunning?! He almost doesn’t look real, his color and design is so aesthetically pleasing and perfect.

But, alas, he is real, and he’s driving my poor Buddy the WonderDog crazy. Though, on the bright side (though not very bright for the bird),  he will probably make a fine dinner for an enterprising young coyote by the end of the week. 😦

Now for the top story: I mowed my lawn. See?

I know, I hear you saying, “What? So what? People mow their lawns every day!”

Ha! Not me. I have never mowed a lawn in the 48 years I’ve been alive. Today was my first to ride, push, pull or drag a motorized anything over a lawn.

It was scary, but I did it and I’ll do it again.

How’s that for self-sufficiency? (Well, kind of, I had to borrow my dad’s mower to do it *g*)

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 26, 2010.

10 Responses to “For the first time EVER: I mowed my lawn”

  1. Thank goodness for Dads and their tools! I just recently started mowing my lawn since my neighbor was out of town. I use an old fashioned rotary push mower. Great exercise and I love the sound that the mower makes when you pull it back. That being said, I miss someone else doing it for me!! 🙂

  2. Did your dad give you lessons on how to use the tractor? I would have had to have that!

    • They just mowed the “big lawn” out back (and baled it), but I’m figuring that there will be some growth between now and the end of the season and I’ll have to ask Dad to teach me to mow with the BIG tractor. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Good for you!

    Mowing was one of my “chores” growing up. We had a big yard – I did the front on the riding mower & my brother came along behind me & went around all the trees & bushes with a push mower. Good times. Heh.

    I’ve only helped Dr. M mow twice since we moved to the house. I think he can’t stand to watch me do it. He has a METHOD & I DO IT WRONG. I’m ok with that.

    • I’m pretty sure I missed a few spots … prolly cuz I was wheeling around those corners as fast as I could (remember, I’m the one that wanted a dirt bike not long ago 😛 )

  4. Welcome to the club! We are an esteemed group, after all. And it doesn’t matter whose mower did the, ahem, work, you directed it! So proud of you!

  5. Oh oh….. watch out you dont get hooked on that machine. Next thing you know we will hear that you are an entry in the Morton Loggers Jubilee lawnmower races.

  6. Good for you! 3 cheers for self-sufficiency! The pheasant is gorgeous.

  7. Bravo! I haven’t mowed a lawn since I was 10 years old and used a push lawn mower. My kids have been mowing our lawns for years, and now that our youngest is in college, my husband is mowing. It seems too hot to me in TX to even try, but I am impressed with your self-sufficiency.

    Also, thanks for stopping by and giving me sympathy!

  8. I mowed a lawn for the first time about the same part of my life. I used a push mower though, not a tractor. Scary, yes. I was sure that I’d cut off a foot. Still not a favorite chore!

Leave a Reply

 
