Fish & Bird Tote

I spent weeks allowing dust to collect in my pretty yellow studio, then WHAM!, all of the sudden I have half a quilt made and two new purses in three days?

Hmmm, I have to wonder if the day I spent at the Sugar n’ Spice wasn’t just what I needed to get sewing again. I used to spend every Thursday at Linda’s shop, just hanging around. We called it my Artist’s Date (a la The Artist’s Way). I’m thinking I may need to make caring for my artistic self a habit again.

I have been going through the improv wisdom by Patricia Rayn Madson and talking about it over on my prayer blog. I have six more weeks until I finish that book, perhaps I get back to The Artist’s Way after that.

I like that idea!

If you haven’t read through The Artist’s Way book, I highly recommend it!

In fact, I think that this time through I’ll get the workbook and the morning pages book to go along with it, just to spoil myself. 🙂

If you would like to see some of the posts from the last time I went through the book, just put “The Artist’s Way” into the little SEARCH box over in the right column (then hit “enter”) and a whole list of past posts will pop up.

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 24, 2010.

6 Responses to “Fish & Bird Tote”

  1. These are FABULOUS! Is there a pattern you use? Or do you just make these up as you go? And HOW do you get the photos on the fabric? You’re inspiring me in really big ways, and I have so much fabric that can be put to use with totes. I want a tutorial! xoxo

  2. I am LOVING your totes! Of course I’m a bit biased 🙂

  3. I miss our Artist’s Dates, too. What do you say we revive them? See you on Thursday? Awesome bag!!!

  4. Not to mention that summer’s about over and it’s just time to get back to the crafting and imagining and let those creative juices flow to keep you warm and cozy!! ~karen

  5. The Artist’s Way coupled with the case of shingles last year launched me into what I’m doing now. The shingles told me my work life wasn’t working, and The Artist’s Way helped me see what to do to make it work again.

  6. I’m lovin’ the totes too, BIG time.

    I am an Artist’s Way convert, have been doing morning pages for 7+ years. What a joyous and creative path has opened up for me as a result of that book.

Leave a Reply

 
