Rejoice! the Old has Become New Again!

What a busy day yesterday! WOW!

It all started with a haircut. “Let’s do something different, Tina,” I said.

“GINA!” Tina yelled, gathering the support of her colleague, “Girls! We’re going to do something different!”

“I know, let’s … ” and yes, Gina did know. And Tina did cut, and color, and cut again.

Ta Dah!

I haven’t captured a flattering shot yet and I haven’t quite figured out how I want to “do” my hair yet, but I’m thrilled with the cut. Tina is a Wizard with Scissors.

When I got home, my oldest son, Stosh, was working in my backyard clearing away brush. I ran out there to see what he was doing.

OMGoodness, I can’t believe what he has done! In the four hours it took for me to drive off to the hair salon and back, he has done more work in the yard than … well, than has ever been done for me before.

I stood there and cried.

He turned, looked at me and said (in a deep, manly, we-don’t-need-to-discuss-it-but-here’s-what-I-have-to-say tone), “I like your hair.”

I absolutely fell apart inside.

The outside calmly said, “Really? You like it??”

“Yup,” he said, and went back to work. (I’m such a lucky mom!)

Top left picture was taken from my kitchen window last month — there was a pheasant in the yard, remember? Bottom left, no more hiding place for pheasants! In fact, you can drive a tractor under that tree — or sit under it, and that’s what I intend to do on day when the work is done.

Buddy the WonderDog came running through and around all the spaces that, until yesterday, a falling down barbed-wire fence-line had kept him from going. He was happy.

The work certainly isn’t done yet, but it’s a great start and I’m excited to see what else my handsome son comes up with to do around this place.

My youngest boy, Shane, and my granddaughter, Emma, and I all headed out to the Garlic Fest for an evening of, well, garlic! Oh yeah, and a pony ride.

Emma and I loved the garlic ice cream, they went really well with Shane’s garlic fries. Num!

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 28, 2010.

6 Responses to “Rejoice! the Old has Become New Again!”

  1. LOVE the cut!! Very flattering!

  2. You are beautiful! And you had gifts–a clean yard and a great time with your family! What a wonderful day!

  3. Love, love, love the cut!!! It looks great. And so does your yard. What a wonderful son. Garlic ice cream? Imagine that! ~karen

  4. Your hair looks great! I had a hairdresser like that one time – I knew that whatever she did the cut would be superb.

    Um, everywhere I go you’re flinging garlic ice cream at me. Which, you know, if you handed me some to try, I would, but really? Blech!

  5. Great haircut.
    Garlic ice cream? Really??
    Your place looks great, expert scissor-hands at work all over!!

  6. YOU LOOK MAAAAArvelous! Great week for you!

Leave a Reply

 
