Why I don’t post or quilt as often as I’d like

This is my Big Board of Newspaper Story Deadlines. It is my way of trying to wrangle the chaos of photo assignments and deadlines into a manageable tangle. So far so good, the only problem is learning to look ahead, waaaay ahead. I’m working on it.

I have lots of interesting features assigned over the next several weeks. A beer tasting, a wine festival, hypnosis, Wicca, Jewishness stuff (that’s just a working title), dog training, two Home of the Month stories and much, much more.

This board doesn’t include my weekend story assignments. They don’t come in until Friday and usually involve two or three places to go and see (always interesting places!!) and then a big rush to get the stories written before the 6:30 a.m. deadline on Monday morning.

There has been a HUGE learning curve for me. This freelance newspaper reporting and feature writing isn’t as easy as it looks — though, I must say, it’s TWICE as fun going out on assignment.

Would I normally attend the Korean War Veterans Remembrance Day celebration? Absolutely not.

Did I enjoy the heck out of it when I went? You betcha!!

I have been at this for four months now. I’m learning, I’m making mistakes, I’m having adventures. Life is good.

“A hundred times a day I remind myself that my inner and outer life depend on the labors of other people, living and dead, and that I must exert myself in order to give in the full measure I have received and am still receiving.” ~Albert Einstein
~ by Kimberly Mason on September 22, 2010.

10 Responses to “Why I don’t post or quilt as often as I’d like”

  1. Sadly quilting and blogging have to take a backseat to earning an income! Where and when is the wine festival? I might have to make a trip!!

  2. I love that you have this new career! (OK, I’m a little jealous.) Did you have formal education in journalism? You are an excellent writer so it is no surprise you are successful in this new venture. I would love a career do-over but have no idea how/where to start. Congratulations on finding such a great new definition of “self”.

    • After 30 years, I don’t think I can count my stint as Student Life Editor of my high school weekly paper and the /intention/ to major in journalism in a college career cut short by bad decisions and motherhood a formal education. So, no. No formal education. 😛

      Nor do I recommend the route of being tossed out into the cold, cruel world by a man who thought his high school friend that he reconnected with on facebook was going to be the girl of his dreams (and she wasn’t!

  3. Do you feel like you always have a term paper due? That is one intense schedule!! does it take the joy out of writing for you? or do you feel like you are using your gifts? Very infomative peek into a journalists schedule. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Honestly, yes. Sometimes it /does/ take some of the joy out of writing. BUT! (I’m so glad there is a big “but!”) But, I am learning that the grunt work is just part of the whole mostly joyful package. We love to make quilts, but there is always a part of the process that we don’t particularly enjoy. For me it’s the label (though I have been inspired by Pat Deck’s labels lately), and before that, it’s the binding. But we push through because we tell ourselves we can’t do another until we … no, wait, that’s how UFO’s are born. 😛

      Mostly, though, I head out on adventures when I take on a story. If I had to do the hard news I’d probably cry myself to sleep at night … or drink heavily.

      But when I can write up a profile on a truly awesome individual and feel like I’ve done him/her justice? That feels really, really good!!

      ♥Kim

  4. I don’t know if that board would make me feel panicky or on top of things (probably some of both). I’m proud of you for making this work – and personally I think you’re doing a fabulous job!

  5. Everything has it’s time and place. You are doing a wonderful job. ~karen

  6. I’m really happy you get to do this. Funny what can rise from the ashes.

Leave a Reply

 
