This Week ROCKS!

My weekend story: true-crime writer queen, Ann Rule, at a book signing. Front page story. Daughter and Dad behind the author and Barbara Thompson are a pair I met while they were standing in line. Loved them all!

Dacia (the daughter) is a blogger too! AND she is a writer and about to be a published author too! (Just like Ann Rule “too,” not just like me “too.”) AND I misspelled her name in my news story. ARGH! Danged handwriting and low-ink pen! Sorry about that, Dacia. I won’t do it again, especially won’t do it when I write the book review. 😀

Sunday, before and after church, I tromped through the fields in the east county and west county pheasant release sites.

This is Sammy the Lab.  Isn’t he gorgeous? His picture was published in the newspaper today.

Monday morning I had a private soup cooking lesson with a local chef. Holy cow that was a good breakfast!! I had a Creamy Curry Chanterelle Soup and an Italian Spinach and Egg Drop Soup (shown below).

I was in the newsroom this morning and The Editor asked how I liked the chef and the soup. I said I LOVED them both. “He’s single, you know,” The Editor said.

“Drummers, goalkeepers and chefs. They’re all bad boys and my weakness and my downfall. No way,” I said.

Today I visited a turkey farm to interview real turkeys (the kind WITH feathers and two legs, not the kind without feathers). It’s hard to imagine that looking at these alien looking creatures made me hungry — but they did!

AND my photo of a pheasant was on the front page cuddled up to the banner today.

AND I had the feature article in the Outdoors section (my first time ever) AND my son, Stosh, wrote the elk hunting preview story.

AND I bought a latte and a cranberry/pumpkin pound cake at the Market Street bakery and a heap o’ fat quarters at Sisters Fabric Shop for 25% off and some flannel for 20% off and a batik for 15% off. Woot!

AND I spent some time when I got home in my studio working on my Phoenix Project.

AND now it’s bedtime.

“The personal life deeply lived always expands into truths beyond itself.” ~Anais Nin
~ by Kimberly Mason on November 2, 2010.

9 Responses to “This Week ROCKS!”

  1. And WHEN did you sleep?! Love the photo of the pheasant – gorgeous bird. I first read Ann Rule about a thousand years ago when she wrote “The Stranger Beside Me” though I will never be a fan of “true crime”. I am a total sucker for a man that cooks for me, especially if he has blue eyes. My rule – no more cooks, blue eyes or Democrats in my bed! (I will, however, go out to dinner with them…)

    • Bwahahaha! I haven’t tried a Democrat, perhaps I should. 😛

      Blue eyes, however, you have a point there! I’ll add it to my list. Maybe I could take out an ad:

      “… cooks, goalkeepers, drummers and men with blue eyes need not apply. Democrats will be considered, but only if they also meet the previous qualifications …”

  2. Wow, not only are you busy, but you do so many different things! Keeps life interesting. I’ll have to check out Ann Rule’s books! ~karen

  3. your work seems so gratifying! Lucky you! And I can tell that you know about gratitude, which is a gift in itself.

    • Absolutely! And thank you for noticing. The older I get, the more I realize that gratitude is the most attractive attitude to don in the morning. The efficacy of gratitude is a hundredfold over any of those overpriced skin creams. 😛

      Hey! There’s a blogpost in there somewhere…

      Cheers!

  4. Whew – that was a lot of stuff! And I’m seeing your evil plan – a Kim Mason led takeover of the local paper 🙂

  5. WOW, Love Ann Rule books. Beautiful dog, we have 2 labs, great hunters. That soup looks so yummy. Great pheasant and turkey pictures. Pretty fabric colors and your project looks great too.

  6. How fun that little ol me would be featured on your blog!! Thanks so much! This is just too fun. A book published, new friends, and it’s NaNoWriMo this month?? I couldn’t ask for a better MONTH!

Leave a Reply

 
