Juncos: Plain, Little Birds

These plain, little birds have captured my heart. Trying to capture them in motion has become an obsession. These plain birds come into their true glory when they are in flight. The scissor-like flash of the white tail feathers, the angel-like, wispy transparency of their wings — they are little stunners. I’m in love.

I have a feeling I’m going to be heading from the passionate colors of the Phoenix into the quiet depths of the little Junco. Maybe after Christmas …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “Juncos: Plain, Little Birds”

  1. beautiful birds, we get them in Saskatchewan as well, also love the fabric. Is it Marcus Brothers?

    • Yes, Marcus Brothers. I love the Jacobean look! I bought it last year (or the year before?) while on shop hop. It’s hard to find good grays in quilting fabric, I’m always keeping my eye out.

Leave a Reply

 
