My Mom & Dad have been married (almost) 50 years

On New Year’s Eve my beautiful mother and heroic father will celebrate 50 years of marriage. Aren’t they gorgeous?!!

Sunday morning my daughter and I hosted the coffee hour after church. I meant to serve biscuits and gravy, but I burned the gravy so we had biscuits and jam instead. Ah well, I suppose that’s only the second time my dad has had to eat something else because dinner was burned (my mom’s an awesome cook!).

I realize that you all haven’t heard from me in quite a while. Christmas really isn’t my “thing” any more. I attended Christmas Eve service alone, I woke up alone on Christmas morning. It was my first year alone in many, many years. I know I should be grateful for that, but still, it makes me a bit sad …

Love to you all and God’s Peace be with You,

Kim

~ by Kimberly Mason on December 28, 2010.

7 Responses to “My Mom & Dad have been married (almost) 50 years”

  1. Congratulations to your Mom and Dad. What a beautiful couple. They have what I dreamed of. Thanks for sharing.

  2. My congratulations, as well! I had this same sweet celebration with my parents a few years back. My best to all y’all out yonder 🙂

  3. Your folks are darling. Congratulations to them!!

    I know how difficult Christmas can be. There are a lot of us “really empty nesters” out there! It gets better. I promise.

    Peace,
    Suzan

  4. I noticed your absence and thought about you. This particular holiday isn’t really my favorite, either, and I have spent many Christmases alone – usually by choice! It’s behind us now, and we can move on into a new year (they are passing too quickly!). Your mom and dad look tremendous! Happy Anniversary to them! ~karen

  5. Congratulations to your parents! I’m glad they got married & had you!

    We had kind of a rough Christmas too – it’s just hard sometimes when life changes so drastically. I’m planning on coming up with my own new traditions next year to add some meaning.

  6. Awwww to your parents! And listen, until a few years ago I always woke up alone on Christmas. You will find your way again to joy at the holidays, without or without that someone. It’s about what’s in your heart, and your heart is plenty capable of singing solo. Just had to say. And I love you. Big time.

Leave a Reply

 
