A Few of My Favorite Things

As my son Stosh is going through my yard and my house, tearing things down and fixing things up, he is also helping me to make some tough decisions about what’s important to me.

It’s really nothing that he is saying, it’s more what he is doing that is getting me to take a long, hard look at what is important to me. The “strong, silent type” is a long-admired male personality type for a very good reason — they not only allow us women to talk ourselves silly without interruption, but they just shut up and get the job done. (Something I’m sure many around me wish I would learn to do. πŸ˜‰ )

As he has gone from room to room, I have found many things I can do without easily, some things that I reluctantly (but wisely) part with because they really aren’t needed and only add to the clutter, and a very few things that I truly and sometimes unreasonably love and refuse to part with.

Those are the things really worth keeping.

This little doggy-face glasses holder is one of those things. No, I really don’t have to have a special glasses holder by my bedside, but this one is special.

It makes me smile to see it (through squinted-up eyes cuz I can’t see very far) wearing glasses.

It was bought from a woman who was a well-known dog lover who died from cancer. She was getting rid of her many do-dads and what-nots to the local flea market and I happened to be there to get first pick of her little collection. Remembering her makes me smile.

It isn’t a great collector’s item, it isn’t perfectly made or extraordinarily crafted, but it makes me smile and remember someone who I am glad to have known. And that’s enough.

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 8, 2011.

7 Responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things”

  1. What could be better than something that makes you smile everyday!

  2. He is very cute!

  3. One of the top crieria for importance in your life: does it make you smile? Does it make your heart glad?

  4. Well I think you need it – you’re not going to accidentally sit a book on your glasses that way πŸ™‚ And it is guaranteed to make you smile – important!

  5. And, you love it!! I do, too. It adds a little *twinkle* to your day when you wake up and spot it there, happily doing it’s job.

  6. That’s adorable, and a great idea to have on the nightstand too!

  7. I wuv your glasses-holder puppy. He’s definitely a keeper!

Leave a Reply

 
