Thank you! You Gals are Brilliant!

It’s a God thing, ladies, it just has to be! I asked for help getting me back into the studio, you answered.

Nancy said my hard working son and his baby were surely deserving of a quilt. Nancy, how did you know that I had several yards of an outdoorsy print set aside for my son (and have had for AGES) and just bought a couple of yards of a colorful fish print that I intended to use to make a quilt for my grandson. What I didn’t know is that the two prints have basically the same color palette! Wow! How cool is that?!!

Jody suggested I borrow colors from nature. How much closer to nature can these prints be?? Your words let me know I was on the right track. Are you in my head and have you been in my studio? πŸ˜›

And Suzan, if you look at yesterday’s photo, these two prints look quite a bit like my photo from yesterday. Your words affirmed my choice of color palettes. Do you have an angel whispering in your ear?

And Debbie, is Delectable Mountains too obvious? Yup, too obviously the right choice. If I use Bonnie K. Hunter’s methods, I can cut and sew for both quilts at the same time!

Cindy suggested that I might possibly need a comfy quilt of my own. How did you know, Cindy?? I HATE the quilt that I kept for myself. It is the ugliest quilt in the world — perhaps that is why I kept it. 😦

While I was poking around The Studio, looking for the two outdoorsy prints, I found this lovely stack. I bought these the week I decided “I Am Flame!” and the stack includes a flannel backing (the dots).

I suppose I have plenty of time to decide what pattern to use for my own “I Am Flame!” quilt … or do one of you have an idea for me? πŸ™‚

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.” ~Jalaluddin Rumi, translated by Coleman Barks, We Are Three
Now, as to you, Dear Anne, the landscape quilts are these. I suppose one day I might even finish them!

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 11, 2011.

5 Responses to “Thank you! You Gals are Brilliant!”

  1. Lovin’ them Delectable Mountains. Lovin’ them landscapes. Lovin’ them fish. Just lovin’ it ALL. Including YOU.

  2. You say we’re brilliant? You’re the one that’s ON FIRE! πŸ™‚

    • You and Anne’s comments prompted me to look up the original post when I declared myself a flame . THANK YOU! I really, really, REALLY needed that reminder!!!!!!!

      :-*

  3. Cool, cool, cool! What Nancy said. And the landscapes are awesome. Are they, by any chance, inspired by or modeled after Jo Diggs? I’m a landscape junkie and I really want to make some landscape quilts or something-or-others. Love yours!

    I’m liking the stack for a baby or toddler quilt. The colors just say “baby giggle delight” to me. But I can be weird sometimes.

    • The stack was bought when I declared myself a flame .

      Thank You, btw, I went to look up the link to the posting where I declared myself a phoenix and looking at my design wall now side-by-side with my initial design wall, I can now see why I haven’t been able to continue with my Pentecost banner! I need those dark reds put back into the main star, it’s what makes that star really GLOW!

      AND thank you for sending me there to look at WHY I declared myself a flame. I have been sinking into a bit of a funk. I had started to do a “this time last year” post the other day and realized that this time last year I found out that my Ex-Douchbag was cheating on me over the PHONE (what a douchebag!) with a married woman with three teenage kids AND I was reminded that on the 19th of this month I published my first story with the local newspaper. Guess what I focused on? 😦 That’s right, the douchebag … who, BTW, still reads my dang blogs! (GRRRRR!)

      But now that I have been reminded that “I Am Flame” and /why/ I am flame, you have given me that virtual hand up out of the pit that I sorely needed. You. Are. The. Greatest.

      Now, back to quilting …. I used Ruth McDowell’s books for my landscapes. She’s awesome. There is also Jane Kennedy , but I didn’t know about her until just the other day, worth exploring! Jo Diggs’ work is beautiful, but it looks like so much work and I just don’t applique any more … you spend too much time setting things up and I get quilters ADHD and get bored. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
