I’m a Little Bugged

This morning I received an email that told me someone has unsubscribed from my blog. That’s the first time I have ever received such an email. Of course, email notification of unsubscribers is a new feature at WordPress, but, nevertheless, it’s the first time I’ve been notified that someone has decided my blog content is no longer relevant.

And it bugged me. I stewed on it all morning. Someone doesn’t like me anymore.

I know, I know, I can intellectualize all day long that it doesn’t really matter. I didn’t know her, I’d never heard of her. We weren’t friends in a fight. She didn’t quit me in a huff.

Of course, this is SUPPOSED to be a quilt blog, and I haven’t posted anything quilty in quite a long time. But heck, I haven’t posted often enough to piss anyone off over my off-topic subject matter either.

Isn’t it funny how a tiny little incident can upset our apple cart. One little bug can create such a huge wave of anxiety, followed by ripples ofย  inadequacy and self-flagellation.

It’s silly. I know. That’s why I’m telling you about it. So I’ll stop feeling so ridiculously inadequate.

In my One Year Later blog I was just talking about how there is a prayer for everything in the Book of Common Prayer. While writing this post I thought I’d go look to see if I could find one to fit this moment. Sure nuff:

For Quiet Confidence: O God of peace, who has taught us that in returning and rest we shall be saved, in quietness and in confidence shall be our strength: By the might of thy Spirit life us, we pray thee, to thy presence, where we may be still and know that thou art God; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

 

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 18, 2011.

9 Responses to “I’m a Little Bugged”

  1. Love the water skipper photos. As a child, I played with them in the irrigation ditches.

    I know what you mean about being “bugged,” but maybe the person who unsubscribed is having personal difficulties and doesn’t have time for blogs anymore.

    • Hi Nancy! Another Nancy, I LOVE Nancys. In my church we have a saying, “Nancy is a verb, not a noun” cuz we have three of them and they always seem to do more than a dozen Betty’s put together. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I had someone quit reading me because they didn’t like my lack of quilt content. It bothered me for about 3 minutes and then I realized that I don’t write for readers. I write my blog for me. I am selfish that way.

    Gotta love the BCP!

  3. I don’t know or really care how many readers I have but it would bug me too if I got an email like that. LOL.

  4. My followers ebb & flow – & since I don’t know most of them I don’t ever know who leaves – but I don’t get an email either. I would be hard pressed to figure out why someone left – I’m so all over the place with my content ๐Ÿ™‚

    But I know I won’t be quitting your blog – you’re too precious to me!

  5. I promise to read your blog twice if that will make you feel better. And sing The Scotsman in your honor. If that doesn’t make you feel loved and appreciated, I don’t know what will.

  6. I think the e-mail notifying you is stupid. I love how you illustrated your post! It was perfect and obviously well thought out. I was wondering – I subscribe to your blog through e-mail, but am not a “follower”. Or is it the same thing? Tomorrow is a new day. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. I posted a picture of myself that will make you laugh in my “A Kiss is Just a Kiss” post. Come visit for a chuckle. ~karen

  7. Well, I think that feature is not needed and I’d turn that notification off! LOL! Like you, I’d wonder why, but having said that, I have myself “unsubscribed” to blogs in my Google reader for various and sundry reasons, but I would not like notification sent to those people… eek! Will have to remember that with the WordPress blogs.

  8. I don’t quilt, but love your blog because _you_ write it!

    Think about this, though. I accidentally unsubscribed from an environmental blog I read–I had no idea how it happened. I noticed on my phone a webpage from the blog what they had done. Wonder if that could be it; an accident.

Leave a Reply

 
