X-Blocks Snowman Play, Piecing Binding Tutorial

14Snowmen
I delivered my pink stripe X-Blocks table runner to Quilter’s Junction yesterday and came home with a gorgeous set of blues, a yellow and an adorable snowman print. The snowman print is called24OneSnowman “More Holiday Spirit” by Debi Hron for Henry Glass & Co. I love playing in the snow!

Two of the blocks (the pinwheel stars) are arranged using identically cut squares. The other four are arranged using mirror image squares. Fun to play with!

Here’s a close-up of a snowman. And yes, in case you were wondering, it IS cooling to sew with snowman fabric on a hot day! Is it too soon to ask if you are ready for Christmas?

Can’t Sew a Straight Line?

Maybe some people are just born with the talent to sew a straight line. I wasn’t one of the lucky ones, I need help. But I hate marking lines on my fabric, so I’ve come up with a solution. Cardstock.

The Cardstock provides a beautiful, straight line without marking your fabric. You keep pressure on the cardstock instead of the fabric, so you don’t have to worry about stretching or bias bending.

24TutorialPiecingBinding
A picture (or a series of pictures) is worth a thousand words, yes? Let me know if you found this tip useful.

Have a glorious day!

“A thankful person is thankful under all circumstances. A complaining soul complains even in paradise.” -Baha’u’llah

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 24, 2009.

7 Responses to “X-Blocks Snowman Play, Piecing Binding Tutorial”

  1. Hmmm – that might work for some folks, but I’m afraid I’m a lost cause. I could see myself sewing the cardstock to the fabric 🙂 I took an upholstery class years ago & reupholstered a chair – I was definitely NOT the best seamstress in the class!

    Oh, & Christmas? Is it November yet? That’s when you can ask if I’m ready… For my hubby, the week before is too soon to ask!

  2. Strikes me as a very, very good idea.

  3. Kim, love your xBox quilt. I’ve heard so much about it but never tried it. Your quilt is lovely. Thanks for sharing. Love your quote. That is so true and something I try to remember every day, especially today as I’ve caught myself complaining a lot today. Like your suggestion about sewing a straight seam. I’m going to try that. I certainly need help in that area too. Very good idea.

  4. I confess–I can sew a straight line, but I really like the idea of the cardstock for minimizing any unwanted stretching of the fabric. Brilliant! So glad for the tip, and I will try to remember to use it when I get to the sewing part (inching ever closer!)

  5. […] X-Blocks Snowman Play, Piecing Binding Tutorial […]

  6. Thank you for sharing. I bought the X-block templates a couple of years ago and have yet to use them. Don’t ask me why…….. it isn’t like I don’t have any fabric to use them on LOL

    Quilty Hugs!!

  7. Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment